When At Last

I once asked a wise man
What was the path to life.
He told me I would find
It was death if I was wise.
I did not like that answer
And set out to prove him wrong
By finding the happiness
I’d been missing all along.
My mission was defined
My goal was crystal clear
With wealth I can have it all
And buy what I’ll hold dear.
T’was then I lost my honor;
It was the price of gold.
I had everything I’d wanted
Except what I had sold.
At long last, I regained it
And then set out to find
Women who would pleasure me,
Sex to ease my troubled mind.
With each one, I grew worse
And my joy here soon faded
Leaving me empty inside,
Just bitter, cold, and jaded.
Power then was what I needed
With it come honor and fame
And everyone likes everyone;
At least, that’s their little game.
But they were all so shallow
With masks they could hardly bear
Too afraid to show the world
What was truly under there.
No gold, no sex, no power;
And now I had no clue
Of what there was left in life,
Of what I was supposed to do.
I gave away what I had
For of it I’d grown tired
And wanted to do some good
Before my time expired.
Finally I realized
That there was indeed a way
That I could actually enjoy
Each and every day.
The wise man was correct
And now I truly see
That I only found my life
When at last I died to me.

Leave a Reply

