Before It’s Over

Ten years left before it’s over,
Ten years left ‘til I die;
But for now, I’ll watch TV
And laugh until I cry.
Five years left before it’s over,
Five years left ‘til the end;
But for now, I will waste time
Wishing I had more friends.
One year left before it’s over,
One year left ‘til I leave;
Now I ponder my funeral
Wondering who there will grieve.
One month left before it’s over,
One month left ‘til I’m gone;
Now I look back and I question
Is it enough what I’ve done?
One week left before it’s over,
One week left ‘til I pass;
I smile now at simple things
Like dogs and clouds and grass.
One day left before it’s over,
One day left ‘til I go,
I pray now I’ve taught my children
All they will need to know.
One hour left before it’s over,
One hour left ‘til we part;
Now I’ll say goodbye to my wife,
You are the love of my heart.
One minute left before it’s over,
One minute left ‘til I die;
Now I’ll prove I’m not immortal,
Somehow time has passed me by.
No time left before it’s over,
No time left and I know
My lone regret is I didn’t start
Living like this ten years ago.

Leave a Reply

