A Petal Fallen From a Rose

A petal fallen from a rose
Lies there now shriveled and black,
In velvet darkness I repose
Without, like that rose, what I lack.
A petal fallen from a rose
Has of blackness drank its fill,
While I behind the dark doors I close
Am, being human, falling still.
A petal fallen from a rose
Cannot be replaced on the flower,
Like a man in darkness who knows
The past can’t be relived one hour.
A petal fallen from a rose
Has ceased to be part of that name,
As a man when his true heart he shows
Becomes an outcast in his shame.
A petal fallen from a rose
Lies there now shriveled and black,
But there is one way we oppose:
On the Rose I can be put back.

I wrote this a few years ago, when I was lamenting my past. If you lament yours, know that no sin will keep you from restoring your relationship with Jesus, the Rose of Sharon.

Leave a Reply

