“If Jesus were in me, wouldn’t He stick out all over?”

When I was a little boy, my mom told me that Jesus lived in my heart. I looked down my shirt and didn’t see Him, then asked my mom, “If Jesus were in me, wouldn’t He stick out all over?”

I had no idea at the time how true those words were. For all who truly love Jesus and accept His love, showing that love to others should be not just possible, but easy. It should be a part of us, shining through in all we do, obvious to everyone we meet.

It’s easy for me to forget that when I don’t feel loved, which usually happens when I don’t love myself. The truth, however, is that I’m loved more completely and irrevocably than my wife, despite her sincerest efforts, could ever love me. I’ve been accepted not just despite the things I’ve already done, but despite all the things I’m going to do in the future. All my struggles, all my pain, all my heartache, and all of these that I’ve caused others – He knows all and is able to look past it because of His love for me and His Son’s sacrifice.

And all I have to do is show that love to others, whom He loves just as much as He loves me. It’s not easy of myself, but with Him in my heart, I trust He’ll show me the way.

Leave a Reply

