God’s Love Letter: Silver and Gold

In Haggai 1, God instructs the people to rebuild the temple. He tells them that they have planted their crops, but little has come up. They have eaten and drank, but no one is full. They earned money, but saw it all slip away. And the reason God gives for this is found in verse 9: “’You looked for much, but indeed it came to little; and when you brought it home, I blew it away. Why?’ says the Lord of hosts. ‘Because of My house that is in ruins, while every one of you runs to his own house.'” In other words, the people were seeking their own gain instead of God, and so God kept their gain from them.

Haggai 2:8 says, “‘The silver is Mine, and the gold is Mine,’ says the Lord of hosts.” It’s His to do what He wants with it. We often get caught up in thinking, “If I work hard enough, I’ll get this,” or, “I don’t want to lose all my stuff,” forgetting that it is God who allowed you to have that stuff in the first place.

God may allow you to have things that will take you away from Him. We see that all the time with rock stars, athletes, and other celebrities. Yet God will never give you anything that takes you away from Him. Everything that comes from God is given because He knows it will draw you closer, rather than take you farther away.

I have been struggling with what I feel is my duty as the husband to provide for my wife. I want to provide, yet it’s been difficult to find a job and our books have yet to find agents. I have been looking to myself to provide for our needs and that’s likely why God has not blessed me. It is for Him that I should be working, not for Leah and myself. It is from Him that I should expect blessings, not from some company or individual. Everything we get from this world will turn to ash. Everything we get from God will draw us closer to the eternal Lover of our souls.

God, help me not forget that the reason I am here is to worship You, not to serve myself. Help me remember that true prosperity is having more of You, not more in my bank account. Help me to know that my success comes from how earnestly I serve You, regardless of the results, which are on You to provide. And lastly, etch into my heart that my worth comes from what you think of me, not from how well I live up to the world’s or my standards.

Leave a Reply

