Seeking Rest

I recently began reading The Confessions of St. Augustine, and I’m already thinking you’ll be seeing a lot more posts inspired by him. His passion alone, even without his considerable rhetoric, is inspiring. Just reading what he wrote, it’s hard to not have the thought of, “This guy gets it.”

One quote in particular that jumped out at me was this:

Thou (God) hast prompted him (mankind), that he should delight to praise Thee, for Thou hast made us for Thyself and restless is our heart until it comes to rest in Thee.

I don’t know about you, but I find it difficult to praise God sometimes, especially when I’m worried or upset about something. I have less peace when my heart isn’t trusting in Him. With less peace comes less of a desire to praise and, cyclically, with less praise comes less peace because I forget the magnitude of God.

Oddly, even knowing this, I still have a tendency to worry about certain things, particularly money. I tend to take my focus off of God and put it where it has no business being, which is really anywhere but Him.

If you’re like me in this, I’d like to encourage you to try something with me: take at least 5 minutes every day this week and just praise God. No requests, no confessions, no crying out to Him about how you feel – just praise for His power and goodness.

It’s said that home is where the heart is. God created our hearts, now He wants to be their eternal home.

2 comments on “Seeking Rest

  1. I really like what you’ve said about how we so often worry about things and fall victim to not trusting God. I just wrote a blog on that topic myself. I really will take your suggestion and focus just those five minutes a day (even though God deserves all of our praise forever!) and just praise Him. It reminds me of Philippians 4:6-7:

    “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

    If we praise Him and give Him thanks, He will bless us immensely. 🙂

Leave a Reply

